The Corey Story

My random wanderings and things I find entertaining

Monday Motivator

Posted by Corey Kaster on November 30, 2009

Visualize this thing you want. See it, feel it, believe in it. Make your mental blueprint and begin.”

— Robert Collier

 

For some reason, I had the urge to “earn my turkey” this Thanksgiving. So, I got up and went to a boot camp style workout that lasted an hour and a half. Kicked my butt. I wasn’t sure I was going to be able to finish. Fortunately, I did. Not just because it felt good to finish, but because I had a chance to meet with a very inspirational young woman at the end of class.

This is her before and after picture:

Avis shared that she has lost more than 125 pounds in a little over two years. She has 34 to go to reach her goal. I asked her to share her secrets of success. I thought we could all benefit from her wisdom, so I’m sharing them here today. This is what she told me:

* I started seeing myself as the person I wanted to be, rather than the person I was.

* When faced with a challenging situation, I ask myself, “What would a 130 pound person do here?”

* When I lose weight, I get rid of my bigger clothes. I don’t give myself a back door. Failure is not an option.

* I remind myself of the reasons it is important to me to succeed.

* I joined a group that provides support and encouragement (TOPS), and I developed relationships with the people who were serious about losing weight – not the ones who have been going for years without a change.

* I set up a chart with celebrations for milestones along the way.

As I listened to her, it was easy to see why she is accomplishing what she set out to do. The keys to her success can be applied to anything a person wants to do. Let’s revisit the steps in a more generic format:

1. See the goal as if it is already true.

2. Train yourself to think and act in alignment with that truth.

3. Don’t make a “just in case it doesn’t work out” plan. Plan for success.

4. Remind yourself why it is important to you to do what you’ve set out to do. That helps get you through the tough times.

5. Get support. Join a group, set up a Master Mind team, get a coach… whatever will help you be successful.

6. Celebrate the progress along the way — not just at the end.

If there’s something you’ve wanted to accomplish that hasn’t happened yet, take a look at the steps that Avis shared. Her opinion (and mine) is that she wouldn’t have made it this far if she left one of the steps out. Is there something missing from your list? Is there something you can do to amp up your results? Why don’t you take it on and see what happens?

Wishing you even better results than you’ve gotten in the past–

Cheri

Cheri Fredrickson, CPC

Small Business Coach

Reiki Master/Teacher

503-970-1973

www.cherifredrickson.com

Share This!

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine


One Response to “Monday Motivator”

  1. Wow 😀 I found this site on Yahoo searching for something completely unrelated, now I’m going to need to read through all the old material XD Good bye my free time this morning, but this was a really spectacular find 😀

Leave a Reply

 
