The Corey Story

My random wanderings and things I find entertaining

Make Your Business Flourish Despite Life’s Distractions

Posted by Corey Kaster on February 11, 2010

I know the things I could be doing for my business to keep it growing and successful — the programs I can’t wait to share with my clients, or the affordable products I want to develop. Very exciting stuff, I agree. I can even see the end result in my mind, the money I want to earn, and the number of people I want to reach.

But, boy, does it get hard sometimes. For example, I can get bogged down by daily demands that don’t really get me to my goals. Or, I get discouraged because I’m not where I want to be. Sometimes it seems so far off, doesn’t it?

So, what do I do in these dark and distracting times? — Two simple you know already, dear reader! Yes, they are called Self-Discipline and Persistence. Today we’ll examine them to help refresh your memory and remind you of what you already know, and I hope, spark you to take some new action to integrate them more fully into your business.

Self-Discipline: Do You Want to Control Your Destiny?

Building self-discipline takes practice, especially with long-term goals. I know I’m impatient. I want what I want and I wanted it yesterday. Yet things must run their course and some things just take time to develop. Yet, I have to make my plans stay on track and that is directly connected to what I choose to do each day to make it all happen. That’s the essence of self-discipline, to make a conscious decision in how I want to control my destiny.

Pause here for a moment:

  • Think about how you want to make your own destiny. Go through the business goals you have for yourself, especially for this new year.
  • Imagine the choices you’ll make from now on as you encounter obstacles, distractions, and temptations.
  • Break up your long-term goals into smaller, more manageable mini-goals that you can celebrate each time you achieve every one.

But how do you keep going and going when you start getting tired and are losing your wind? It seems no end is in sight. Things don’t seem to be changing even with the conscious choices you’ve made. This is when you must persevere!

Persistence = One Sexy Tortoise

Persistence is a mental game with yourself. You have to remind yourself why you are doing what you are doing even though it’s not fun or downright anxiety-inducing. Dangle the carrot of good things coming to you because of what you’re putting in. Don’t forget to give kudos where kudos is due — great job!

Feeling stuck? Are you sure you’re stuck, or are you simply not allowing your actions time to bear fruit? If you see a certain action is not working after all, it’s okay to change tactics, to try something new. As a famous general said, “We’re not retreating, we’re just advancing in a different direction.”

Some Closing Thoughts

When you know you have to wait for the results from all your effort, it can be an agony. It can be an uncertain period, and this is where hanging onto your goals becomes so important so that they can make your vision for your business a reality. Then, you can continue on for another day. Let me leave you with another inspiring quote from a wise Chinese saying, “If there is no dark and dogged will, there will be no shining accomplishment; if there is no dull and determined effort, there will be no brilliant achievement.”

©2010 Deanna Maio, Savvy Gals LLC

Deanna Maio

Certified Professional Business & Career Coach

SavvyGals Coaching & Consulting, LLC

Office:503-922-2688

deanna@savvygals.com

www.savvygals.com

Share This!

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine


2 Responses to “Make Your Business Flourish Despite Life’s Distractions”

  1. First, thanks for your astute post. I really like your blog and find it fantastically instructive. I admire your skill of pointing out (by blogging) little things that other blogger never take time to mention. I found it while doing a search on Bing as a consequence I certainly will return here when I have more time.Thanks

Leave a Reply

 
