The Corey Story

My random wanderings and things I find entertaining

Monday Motivator – How To Break Bad Habits

Posted by Corey Kaster on April 5, 2010

“Bad habits are like a comfortable bed, easy to get into, but hard to get out of.”

While it is true that bad habits are hard to break, I’ve noticed that my good habits are pretty hard to break, too. Once they are established, that is.

When I’m in the habit of working out in the morning, I miss it if I don’t. When I’m in the habit of getting up early, I automatically wake up early and go to bed early. When I’m in the habit of making my outbound calls first thing in the morning, I just automatically do it without thinking and it is done before I know it. You get the idea.

Our good habits feel good and, because of that, I think we tend to take our good habits for granted. So, we forget about all the things we do that really serve us – and what it took to develop the habit in the first place.

On the flip side, our bad habits don’t feel so good. Because of that we notice them. Not only do we notice them, we tend to beat ourselves up about them, which generally brings our energy down and keeps us from being as effective as we can be.

Rather than giving yourself a hard time for the habits you don’t want, try learning from the good ones by doing a little analysis. How did those good habits get started in the first place? How did you keep yourself on track until it became a habit?

Now look at a habit you’d like to change and apply the same principles that worked for you in the past. It may not happen overnight. But, if you continue to do what has worked for you before, it won’t be long before you have another habit that serves you well and helps you get more of what you want in life.

Wishing you ease in developing a new habit that brings a smile to your face —

Cheri Fredrickson, CPC

Small Business Coach

Reiki Master/Teacher

503-970-1973

www.cherifredrickson.com

Leave a comment